Don't miss any update with Africazine.

― Advertisement ―

HomeAfricaTroost-Ekong Wins Best Player 2023 AFCON

Troost-Ekong Wins Best Player 2023 AFCON

The 2023 CAF Africa Cup of Nations ended on a bitter note for the Super Eagles of Nigeria as they were denied their fourth AFCON title by host nation, Côte D’ivoire.

The Elephants of Cote D’ivoire overturned Troost-Ekong’s 38th minute opener in the second half with Franck Kessie and Star striker, Sebastian Halle goals. With the win, the host nation has won the AFCON title three times in their history.

Super Eagles captain’s, William Troost-Ekong, who had an outstanding performance at the tournament was the only Nigerian player to win an award. The defenderwas crowned  Player of the Competition for his leadership at the back.  Despite Troost-Ekong’s defence mastering, the PAOK player finished as the defender with the goal in the tournament with three goals.. Nigerian goalkeeper, Stanley Nwabali, although brilliant throughout the competition with four clean sheets to his name and earning praises from Nigerians and football lovers for his wonderful display at the competition, lost Best Goalkeeper to Ronwen Williams of South Africa.

Here is the full list of awards given at the AFCON:

Ecobank Best Goalkeeper

Ronwen Williams – South Africa

Air Côte d’Ivoire Fair Play Team award

South Africa

Puma Golden Boot winner

Emilio Nsue – Equatorial Guinea (5 goals)

Puma Silver Boot winner

Gelson Dala – Angola (4 goals)

Puma Bronze boot winner

Mostafa Mohamed – Egypt (4 goals)

See Also


TotalEnergies Man of the competition

William Troost-Ekong – Nigeria

Best Young Player award

Simon Adingra – Ivory Coast

Best Coach award 

Emerse Faé – Ivory Coast