Don't miss any update with Africazine.

― Advertisement ―


The Royal Mansour Casablanca – rebirth of an iconic address • Hotel Designs

The opening of the Royal Mansour Casablanca marks the rebirth of a legendary address from the 1950s, which is now home to 149 rooms,...

Mali Extreme Weather

HomeNewsQatar 2022: When will the Inter-Confederation Playoffs be held?

Qatar 2022: When will the Inter-Confederation Playoffs be held?

The last train to Qatar 2022 is about to leave. The destination that every National Team has wanted to reach since 4 years ago when Russia 2018 came to an end, has an almost full quota, so several will have to stay out. When is the deadline to get on this train called Inter-Confederation Playoffs?

Four national teams will clash for the last two available tickets to the upcoming FIFA World Cup, a last great opportunity that is not open to just anyone: only one member of Conmebol, one of Concacaf, one of the AFC, and one of the OFC will be able to compete for these last places.

Unlike in past editions, the tickets available for Qatar 2022 will be played in a single match and in a truly luxurious neutral territory, in the host country of the upcoming edition of the World Cup. More drama and risk, true, but less waiting time, at the end of the Inter-Confederation Playoffs the teams that will join the already qualified teams will already be known.

Who will play in the Qatar 2022 Inter-Confederation Playoffs?

There are four regions represented in the Inter-Confederation Playoffs. For Conmebol, the team that will participate in is Peru, after finishing in fifth place in the standings of the South American Playoffs, below Brazil, Argentina, and Uruguay, and above Colombia and Chile.

The OFC representative will be New Zealand, one of the teams that have played the most Inter-Confederation Playoffs in history. It will try to secure a place in Qatar 2022 after advancing from the group stage, and from Tahiti and Solomon Islands in the final rounds of the Oceania Qualifiers.

For Concacaf, it is Costa Rica the one that will have the opportunity to participate in the battle for the last place in the upcoming FIFA World Cup, by sitting fourth place in the standings, below Canada, Mexico, and the United States.

Finally, Asia’s representative at this stage was not known until June 7, when the United Arab Emirates and Australia clashed in the Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium. The final score was 2-1 in favor of the Socceroos who will have the opportunity to fight for a place in Qatar 2022.

Yoshimar Yotún, Peru National Team. (Leonardo Fernandez/Getty Images)

© Provided by Bolavip UK Yoshimar Yotún, Peru National Team. (Leonardo Fernandez/Getty Images)

When will the Qatar 2022 Inter-Confederation Qualifiers be played?

As FIFA has revealed, these matches will take place at Ahmad Bin Ali Stadium to be determined in Qatar between June 13 and 14. There will only be two matches and the winners will automatically qualify for the upcoming World Cup.

-June 13, Australia vs Peru, 2:00 PM (ET)

-June 14, Costa Rica vs New Zealand, 2:00 PM (ET)

What will be the clashes that will define the final qualifiers for Qatar 2022?

Originally, the Inter-Confederation Playoffs were to be held in March 2022, however, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, they had to be rescheduled, and the Qatar 2022 Final Draw will be held without knowing all the qualifiers.

In November 2021, at a draw held at FIFA headquarters in Zurich, it was determined that the pairings for the Inter-Confederation Playoffs leading to Qatar 2022 would be: the Conmebol National Team vs. the AFC National Team (Asia), and the CONCACAF National Team vs. the OFC National Team.

So far, the two decisive matches to determine the final qualifiers for the upcoming FIFA World Cup are fully decided yet.

Chris Wood, New Zealand National Team. (Simon Holmes/Getty Images)

© Provided by Bolavip UK Chris Wood, New Zealand National Team. (Simon Holmes/Getty Images)

More must-reads: