Ireland To Implement Mandatory Quarantine For Travellers From Austria, The UAE And Sub-Saharan Countries


Travellers arriving to Ireland from Austria, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and sub-Saharan African countries are to be subject to a 14-day mandatory quarantine, Taoiseach Micheal Martin has said.

20 Countries

A total of 20 countries will join South Africa, Brazil and some other South American countries on a list subject to travel restrictions due to the presence of variants of the coronavirus, Martin told Newstalk Radio.

At Any Address

Arrivals from the countries will be allowed to quarantine at any address until a system of mandatory hotel quarantines is introduced in the coming weeks, the government has said.

Non-Essential Overseas Travel Fine Increase

The news follows earlier news that the taoiseach has asked health minister Stephen Donnelly to increase the fine for non-essential overseas travel to €2,000.

News by Reuters, edited by Hospitality Ireland. Click subscribe to sign up for the Hospitality Ireland print edition.