BI now includes Oman, UAE in travel ban until May 31

  Bureau of Immigration chief Jaime Morente (PIA NCR file photo)

CALOOCAN CITY, May 16 (PIA) — The Bureau of Immigration (BI) has now included Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in its enforcement of the extended travel ban on arrivals from South Asian countries. 

BI Commissioner Jaime Morente said they received an order from Malacañang extending the ongoing temporary travel ban for travelers coming from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka until May 31, 2021. 

“Following said order, those coming from Oman and UAE will temporarily be barred as well, until the end of the month,” said Morente. 

“Those who will be coming from or have a travel history within the last 14 days from the 7 countries will excluded and sent back to their port of origin,” he added. 

BI Port Operations Division Chief lawyer Carlos Capulong said they are not expecting anyone coming from the two countries, as airlines were instructed not to allow the boarding of passengers prohibited from entering unless they are part of repatriation efforts of the national government. 

Capulong clarified that travelers who would be merely transiting through the said regions would be allowed to enter the Philippines. 

“Transiting would mean that they did not leave the airport terminal, were not cleared by immigration authorities, and are just there for a layover,” he stated. 

The flight ban was implemented to stop the entry of the new COVID-19 variant from India. (PIA NCR)