Don't miss any update with Africazine.

― Advertisement ―

HomeAfricaItai Kriss and Telavana to Release 'All Aboard Vol. 1 Departures' on...

Itai Kriss and Telavana to Release ‘All Aboard Vol. 1 Departures’ on June 5th

Itai Kriss, a Grammy-nominated artist hailed by Jazzwax as “one of the most exciting new flutist-composers” on the scene, continues to captivate audiences with his eclectic musical style, blending Jazz, Latin, and Middle Eastern sounds. Kriss’ third release with his multi-cultural ensemble Telavana, titled All Aboard Vol. 1 Departures, is set to release on June 5th under Avenue K Records.

This album celebrates the joy of travel and takes listeners on a musical journey from Morocco to Senegal, Egypt to Paris, and all the way to the Caribbean isles and New York City.

In Kriss’ own words, All Aboard is an album about travel and journeys, both physical and spiritual. “Traveling to new places is one of the best ways for us to expand our horizons, to expose ourselves to points of view and ways of being other than our own, and to experience reality through a different prism.”

With Kriss’ intricate, skillfully woven compositions in the spotlight, each piece combines captivating melodic ideas and rich percussion-infused grooves from around the world, thoughtfully arranged across the airtight seven-piece ensemble.

Highlights of the album include:

  • Agadir: A Gnawa-infused tune dedicated to the sounds of Morocco.
  • Night Vision: Begins with a Brazilian baiao rhythm but quickly turns towards the Caribbean.
  • Beach Song: Celebrates Middle Eastern roots with lyrics in Hebrew.
  • Flânerie Brumeuse: Takes listeners on a moody, misty stroll through the streets of Paris.
  • Dakar: Inspired by the incredible rhythms of Senegal.
  • Prendido: An Afro-Cuban-Jazz-tinged romp through the streets of Havana.
  • Seventh Life: Evokes the pleasures of driving down a California coastal highway.

The ensemble features:

  • Itai Kriss | Flute, Vocals
  • Wayne Tucker | Trumpet, Flugelhorn
  • Ahmed Alom-Vega | Piano
  • Tamir Shmerling | Acoustic Bass, Electric Bass, Vocals
  • Dan Aran | Drums, Percussion, Vocals
  • Samuel Torres | Congas, Percussion
  • Special Guest: Amos Hoffman | Oud (Tracks 1 & 3), Electric Guitar (Tracks 5 & 7)

All Aboard Vol. 1 Departures is poised to offer an immersive and diverse auditory experience, showcasing Itai Kriss’ unique ability to transcend musical boundaries. The album’s release is highly anticipated, promising to be a significant contribution to the world music landscape.