Don't miss any update with Africazine.

― Advertisement ―

HomeAfricaMoroccoAFCON 2023: These 10 teams have qualified for the Round of 16

AFCON 2023: These 10 teams have qualified for the Round of 16

The delayed 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) is currently being contested by 24 of Africa’s finest football nations in the Ivory Coast.

ALSO READ | Kaizer Chiefs to release midfielder at the end of this season

The competing sides have been drawn into six groups of four, with the top two sides in each group, plus the four best third-placed finishers, qualifying for the Round of 16.

MUST SEE | Orlando Pirates make decision on Makhaula’s future

At the time of publishing, 10 countries (out of 16) have already booked their places in the knockout rounds – with more to be confirmed after Tuesday, 23 January’s matches.

In Group A, Equatorial Guinea and Nigeria are through to the Last 16 having finished first and second, respectively, in the group.

In Group B, Cape Verde have impressed all and sundry with their two wins and a draw in their three matches.

The archipelago and island country of West Africa in the central Atlantic Ocean beat Ghana (2-1) and Mozambique (3-0), and drew with Egypt (2-2).

They are joined in the Round of 16 by Egypt.

ALSO READ | Kaizer Chiefs don’t own Bafana Bafana – Mandla Masango

Meanwhile, in Group C, Senegal and Guinea are also assured of spots in the next round.

In Group D, Angola and Burkina Faso have also booked their spots in the Round of 16.

Bafana Bafana in AFCON 2023 action on Wednesday night

POLL | Should Hugo Broos get the axe as Bafana coach?

In Group E, Mali are assured of a Last 16 place.

MUST READ | “Done deal!” Kaizer Chiefs set to sign Tshabalala after AFCON!

Bafana Bafana will look to secure their Last 16 place when they take on Tunisia on Wednesday, 24 January.

Kick-off in Korhogo is at 19:00 (SA time).

QUESTION | Is Andile Jali among the 22 dismissed Moroka Swallows players?

Finally, in Group F, Morocco are also assured of a Round of 16 spot.

To date, Guinea-Bissau and Mozambique are the only sides to have been eliminated from contention.